May 21, 2024

FILE PHOTO: Nov 4, 2023; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA; Florida State Seminoles head coach Mike Norvell on the sidelines against the Pittsburgh Panthers during the second quarter at Acrisure Stadium./Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports/File Photo

Florida State has revamped its defensive end group following the departures of Jared Verse (NFL) and Gilbert Edmond (transfer) from the program. After exploring the NCAA Transfer Portal, the Seminoles secured three new additions: Marvin Jones Jr. from Georgia, Tomiwe Durojaiye from West Virginia, and Sione Lolohea from Oregon State.

Edmond, who spent almost two weeks in the portal, announced his decision to transfer on Monday. He is set to use his final season of eligibility with the program where he initially began his college career, returning to South Carolina as a graduate transfer. Edmond played a role in all 14 games at defensive end, contributing 23 tackles, 1.5 tackles for loss, one sack, and one forced fumble in 322 defensive snaps. In the Orange Bowl, Byron Turner Jr. was given the start opposite Patrick Payton, as Jared Verse was absent, preparing for the NFL.

Former FSU Football Defensive End Returning To Old Program Out Of Transfer  Portal - Sports Illustrated Florida State Seminoles News, Analysis and More

Edmond, a Florida native, spent the first three years of his college career with the Gamecocks, showcasing his most productive season in 2022 with 39 tackles, nine tackles for loss, and two sacks. He now looks to build on those numbers at South Carolina.

The Seminoles’ defensive end unit will now feature Jones Jr., Durojaiye, Lolohea, redshirt junior Patrick Payton, redshirt junior Byron Turner Jr., redshirt junior Jaden Jones, redshirt freshman Lamont Green Jr., and true freshman DD Holmes.

Apart from Edmond, several other players entered the transfer portal during the recent window, including quarterback Tate Rodemaker (Southern Miss), quarterback AJ Duffy (San Diego State), Rodney Hill, running back CJ Campbell (FAU), wide receiver Goldie Lawrence (UCF), tight end Markeston Douglas (Arizona State), tight end Preston Daniel (Buffalo), offensive lineman Thomas Shrader (Appalachian State), offensive lineman Bless Harris (TCU), offensive lineman Daughtry Richardson (FAU), offensive lineman Qae’shon Sapp (ECU), defensive lineman Dennis Briggs, defensive tackle Malcolm Ray (Rutgers), defensive tackle Ayobami Tifase (Georgia Tech), linebacker Dylan Brown-Turner (UTEP), and kicker Tyler Keltner (Oklahoma). The transfer window closed on January 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *